The Messianic Way

Blogosphere

What is the name of the Father?

yeshua

John 5:43 I have come in my Father’s name, and you do not receive me.

How do you understand this? “I have come in my Father’s name”

I see this as God and Messiah having the same name. If I come in my fathers name, I call myself by the name of my father. Messiah’s name is Yeshua. God our Savior.

Isaiah 45:22 22 “Turn to me and be saved, all the ends of the earth! For I am God, and there is no other. 23 By myself I have sworn; from my mouth has gone out in righteousness a word that shall not return: ‘To me every knee shall bow, every tongue shall swear allegiance.’

Is not God our only Savior? God, the Savior/Y’Shua.

This brings light to these verses:

Matthew 28:19 Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit,

If Messiah came in the name of the Father, and His given name to Mary is Yeshua, then baptism is done in the name of Yeshua, who is the name of the Father, the Son and of the Spirit of God.

John 16:23 In that day you will ask nothing of me. Truly, truly, I say to you, whatever you ask of the Father in my name, he will give it to you.

Ephisians 5:20 giving thanks always and for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ,

Col 3:17 And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

This is how giving thanks to God the Father in the name of Yeshua works. When we give thanks to God using the name Yeshua, we are in fact calling God Himself by name. Because Yeshua came in the name of the Father, when we do things in the name of Yeshua we are glorifying the name of the Father. Who is the only God, our Savior. One God, one name, by which all are to be saved.

Acts 4:11 This Jesus is the stone that was rejected by you, the builders, which has become the cornerstone. 12 And there is salvation in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given among men by which we must be saved.”

John 5:43 I have come in my Father’s name,…..

I don’t see two names here. According to John 5:43 The name of God the Father revealed to us through Messiah is Yeshua, God our Savior.

About Shimshon

Humility is the beginning of ones relationship with God, or the reminder of it's existence...... LOVE ~ Life's Only Valuable Emotion

5 comments on “What is the name of the Father?

  1. cfryalls
    April 21, 2013

    I was recently in a discussion with a few other believers on another site and one of them made a statement that the Gospel of John was written specifically for a Gentile audience. I can see that in regards to the heresy of platonism and the Greek mind set that was against a bodily physical resurrection, but the way John approaches it especially in his opening to his Gospel, he picks up the scriptures in a direct reflect or reference to Genesis, (Bershith) and does this in language and forms that would only be appreciated by believers from Jewish heritage. In fact his presentation of Yeshua as the word, and the creator from the beginning is very close to the seferot of primary Kaballah, (Not the occult distortion of it). Yeshua himself also defends the reality that he is in fact YHVH in the flesh when he says Abraham looked forward to my (Yeshu’a) day and he saw it. And when accused by the sanhedrin of claiming to be the son of God he made very clear that he was in fact the “I Am”, using that very phrase to make sure that his meaning was clear. And Ciafus did understand what Yeshua was saying and stood and tore his robes and called Yeshua a blasphemer. And in another place Yeshua actually says that he will die and then he will raise himself up again. Who but God Himself can raise the dead? And sadly this reality of the person of Yeshua and the correctness of the Apostles to call Yeshua, Lord and God, is still being challenged by Hellenized Christianity even today and perhaps with a even more powerful new age slant of Gnosticism and spiritual incarnation through higher planes through knowledge.

    Like

  2. Shimshon
    April 21, 2013

    The ability to see God within His Word is a gift from above. No man can force the vision, and no man can force another to see it. Yet, with God all things are possible. Good to hear from you Charles!

    Like

  3. cfryalls
    April 21, 2013

    Dr. Michael Heiser has a number of teachings om Youtube. A couple of these deal with a secret of the Jewish sages where the scriptures of the Old testament speaks in such language that it frustrated them greatly, because God would say things like” I will send my word, or my name with you and they will listen to Him. Sort of showing himself to be more than a simple single God all spirit. Actually the Jews were Binatarians, believing that God was spirit but also had an aspect of a material presence, perhaps like the one who delivered the plagues in Exodus. It is very close to my own favorite example borrowed from another brother, that Yeshua is like God’s arm. I see it like it being the physical expression of God that he uses to reach into the material creation and deal with it and us. When we see Yeshua we only see the Arm, but we know that it is connected to the father, the totality of God which we can not see. If Yeshua is separated from God, severed somehow then he would no longer be God. But because he IS connected to God it is right to see Him as God, just like if someone introduced me and held me by my arm and said this is Charles. They would be right. But if my arm was severed and they picked it up and said this arm is Charles, they would not be correct because the Arm is not all that Charles is and without being connected to the rest of me, it is just flesh. If this makes sense or helps great. If it doesn’t, no worries, it is just an attempt to verbalize a concept that is pretty hard to describe. But anyway back to the Binatarian aspect of God/Yeshua, this is why it was easy for some Jews to accept that Yeshua was in fact God, without violating the express understanding that there is only one God. For legalists, bound by their own interpretation of the Torah might not get past the Shema without stumbling over the rock that was the cornerstone.

    Like

  4. cfryalls
    May 2, 2013

    I keep coming back to this teaching. There is power in the name. “Let everything with breath come praise the Lord.” I am reading Pastor Randy Orris’ most excellent book “A shepherds Guide to the Great Tribulation”. In it he gives many little things that in the time of the Great Tribulation, during persecution and facing death that we have stored up inside us through our faith and knowledge of God that helps us get through. One of the most simple and yet profound things, is the name of God, the holy name of God, YHVH (or YHWH, since the ancient vav had the “Wah” sound) God placed his name upon every living being. It is the natural sound we make when we breath, “eeee, ahhhh, oooo, aye” In two breaths. And when we meditate or pray we are saying the holy name in our very breathing, in our breathing. Even when we are angry or when the unsaved curse God, they do so with his name and life breath being profaned through their breath. (What an awesome and terrifying thought) . We should be very careful of everything we say because no matter what it is, the name of God YHVH is in it. And it occurs to me that if me too how with only the slightest bit of change in our breathing, perhaps in love or excitement we change our breath to say “Yeshua,” in a single breath inhale, exhale, Ye shua. Whenever I read scripture I try to be sure when I see “LORD” I know that the translator is substituting LORD for YHVH, and so I restore the name of God, YHVH. The verses become more personal, no longer a narration but instead I reach out and touch YHVH. And in the new testament I do the same thing where Lord, or Lord God is used I go back to YHVH. This makes Phil 2:10,11 very clear for me. [10] That at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of things in heaven, and things in earth, and things under the earth; [11] And that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

    [10] That at the name of Yeshua every knee should bow, of things in heaven, and things in earth, and things under the earth; [11] And that every tongue should confess that Yeshua ha Mashiach is YHVH, to the glory of God the Father.

    Would things in heaven bow to anyone other than YHVH?

    Like

  5. cfryalls
    May 2, 2013

    Continuing from earlier this AM. YHVH, the ideographic meaning of the letters in Paleo-Hebrew are Yod= hand, Hey= window, look or behold, Vav= tent peg or nail. using the letter by this meaning you get [Behold the hand behold the nail] a prophetic looking forward to the name of Yeshua, ( Yah is our salvation.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 4, 2013 by in Best Blog Posts, Shimshon's Blog and tagged , , .
Morning Meditations

"When you awake in the morning, learn something to inspire you and mediate upon it, then plunge forward full of light with which to illuminate the darkness." -Rabbi Tzvi Freeman

WanderingHebrew.com

Jewish adventures in the diaspora.

Reb Rez

Scripture, ethics and spiritual formation

