The Messianic Way

Blogosphere

The more eatable fish

I have taken a break from blogging for the rest of the year.  I want to thank all of you who have shown an interest.  May the new year bring you even closer to our first love and savior, Yeshua the Messiah of Yisrael and the world.

I would like to leave this year with a blessing.

Thank you Abba, for every single thing that you have done, will do, and are doing in and with my life. I thank you for my family, my wife, my children, my relatives. Without whom I would be incomplete. And for my friends, however far and few they may be. And I thank you for everyone else who does good things to others. For all these people, I thank you from the bottom of my soul.

I thank you for all the people who have traveled through my life in the past that are no longer in it. For sending them, allowing them to pass, and using them to mold me into who I am now. And I thank you for all the people you will send into my life that are not here yet.

I thank you for the trees!!! Oh God yes I thank you for the trees, and the mountains, and the beautiful air that I can fill my lungs with. The rivers, the streams, and all the animals. May you never harm them or take them away.

For all these, may you never harm them or take them away. I thank you with all my heart, my soul, and my strength. God of all creation, preserver of my soul, I want to thank you. Today and forever!

As I was talking and praying to Abba this morning I was shown (again) that no matter how heavenly motivated you may be, if your method of operation is to point out the negative you will in turn become negative.

Case in point, I believe those who read this blog are all too familiar with debating an opposing doctrine that personally (or not) effects your life. In my case it would be Torah observant Christians preaching Messianic ‘Judaism’. And as I have engaged in various debates and even arguments over the years one can not help to notice that in attacking every differing opinion one usually becomes offensive. Meaning, they take the offense as apposed to the ‘defense. And in so doing can not help but become ‘offensive’ to not only the opponent, but the observers as well. Charles, you know exactly what I am talking about, you and I suffered from this greatly.

I believe scores of thousands of ‘believers’ suffer this. In the passion to speak what we see at ‘truth’ in the face of perceived lies we become iconoclastic, and in turn serve neither the one we are trying to refute, nor those who are watching the refutation.

I never could understand why, even after all the hard ‘facts’, others would only focus on the messengers faults. We point, and lecture, and scream, and ridicule, then expect the ‘facts’ to be eaten?

Would you eat a bowl of ice cream if it was sprinkled and served with sand? Would you really eat the meat and spit out the bones as a normal habit? Or would you find a more eatable fish?

For many of us, we have become the less eatable fish. And I believe it is because we have focused on the negative, as wrong as it is, without ever once considering the positive side of the equation.

And then focusing on the positive more than the negative. Which has always been a challenge for me.

Instead of focusing on how they are wrong, why not focus on how God is right. And become the more eatable fish.

So this is my prayer for all of us who desire to be eaten for Messiah.  May we become a more eatable fish to those who we are offering our lives to.

I love you all, and thank you!

See you next year!!

About Shimshon

Humility is the beginning of ones relationship with God, or the reminder of it's existence...... LOVE ~ Life's Only Valuable Emotion

2 comments on “The more eatable fish

  1. Kathy
    December 30, 2011

    “why not focus on how God is right”
    I love that!

    Very nice post Shimshon.

    A Happy and Blessed New Year to you and yours!

    Like

  2. Shimshon
    December 31, 2011

    Thank you so much Kathy!

    This is ‘the’ year this generation has been waiting for, no? How exciting!! (focus on God…focus on God…….) lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 29, 2011 by in Shimshon's Blog and tagged , .
Morning Meditations

"When you awake in the morning, learn something to inspire you and mediate upon it, then plunge forward full of light with which to illuminate the darkness." -Rabbi Tzvi Freeman

WanderingHebrew.com

Jewish adventures in the diaspora.

Reb Rez

Scripture, ethics and spiritual formation

